Press "Enter" to skip to content

County celebrates soccer achievements

LIHU‘E — There was the glimmer of hope that twinkled on the faces of the Island School boys soccer team on Wednesday when Mayor Derek S.K. Kawakami proclaimed Feb. 28 as “Island School Voyagers Boys Varsity Soccer Team Day” in the Council Chambers at the historic County Building.

“It is rare that we declare a day for people that have accomplished and achieved things,” Kawakami said. “It makes me proud to be able to do this.”

The hope vanished with the passing winds as Head of School at Island School Nancy Nagramada said the boys will board the bus following the ceremony and it’s back to school.

Kawakami joined forces with the Kaua‘i County Council in honoring the accomplishments of two soccer teams during the meeting of the council.

The Kaua‘i United 12 and Under Futsal team was lauded for the team’s “remarkable achievement in capturing the coveted title of the 2024 12U Hawai‘i Futsal State Championship during the 19th annual Mini Big Futsal Tournament that was played in Hilo, Hawai‘i, during Martin Luther King Jr. Day weekend at Edith Kanaka‘ole Stadium.

During the tournament, Kaua‘i United 12U played against teams from O‘ahu and the Big Island to emerge undefeated.

Team members of the Kaua‘i United 12U include Oren Claussen, Carter Facas, Ivan Manuel Perez, Christian James Costa, Austin Owen, Nolan Strong, Pedro Cury, Chance Pacheco and Kekoa Thayer.

Both the Office of the Mayor and Kaua‘i County Council acknowledged and celebrated the achievement of the Kaua‘i United 12U team, coaches, parents and supporters.

“Your impressive accomplishment is a true inspiration and source of pride for the entire Kaua‘i community,” Kawakami said.

After adjourning the chambers, the honoring and tributes continued with the Voyagers Varsity boys soccer team who earned the Division II koahead trophy by defeating Kamehameha Schools-Hawai‘i, 1-0, at the Motiv8 Foundation Hawai‘i High School Athletic Association tournament played at Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex on Feb. 10.

What made the victory historic was the fact it was Island School’s first appearance in the state finals and the first state team title in any sport for Island School.

Proudly displaying the Division II koa head trophy, the players included Micah Lindman, Kash Lanini, William Buford, Titus Schweitzer, Daniel Ikaika Havas, Finn McTernan, Ian Bollmann, Hunter Kerry, Luka Perozo, Sawyer Rogoff, Ignacio Elzaurdia, Mikey Melvin, Eddie Silliman, Finn Beebe, Lucas Summerhays, Dillon Murphy, Zach Edwards, Javin Hennessy, Cash McClusky, Logan Reynolds, La‘iku Carvalho, Pablo Espejo, Bodhi Jones, Shiloh Costa, Luc Dorow Mochary,and coaches Sean Magoun, Mark Ure and Cola Lindman.

As the koa head trophy being held by Nagramada boarded the waiting school bus, Councilman Ross Kagawa asked Council Chair Mel Rapozo, “What about the Waimea High School girls paddling team?”

The Menehune wahine took first place during the Hawaiian Airlines HHSAA canoe paddling championships on Feb. 10 in Hilo Bay on Hawai‘i Island. In addition to taking home the koa head for the girls division, the Menehune became the first public high school to win the championship since 2008 when the koa head went to Kalaheo High School.
Source: The Garden Island

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply