Press "Enter" to skip to content

Keiki and High School Rodeo award year end honors

HANAPEPE — The Keiki and High School Rodeo Association Kaua‘i District celebrated in-person this year, hosting a banquet at Wong’s Restaurant, where the division winners were announced.

Tammy Pu‘u, the KHSRA Kaua‘i District president, said in the K-2 division, Baelee Dela Cruz was named All Around Cowgirl for the division after capturing first place in barrel racing, pole bending, goat tying, reach roping, breakaway roping and dally team roping.

In the Grades 3-4 division, Mateo Vegas, named All Around Cowboy, was the only entrant.

“He took top honors in all events entered,” Pu‘u said. “He ended up taking home two buckles — one for all around and one for team roping — and a Teskey gift certificate in lieu of the five remaining buckles he won.”

Pu‘u said there are five juniors — Skye Schumacher, Chyanne Ka‘aihue, Paisley Kuhlmann, Carlee Dusenberry and Savannah Mirada — heading to Maui this week for the state division championships.

The high school division, including Mahina Pu‘u, Taylor Langtad, Nicole Medeiros, Casera Silva and Kahinu Palama-Soares, will be going to Hawai‘i Island in June to compete.

Keiki winners

• Barrel racing: Kamren Ka‘aihue, Tanner Refamonte, Cade Carveiro;

• Pole bending: Tanner Refamonte, Cade Carveiro, Kamren Ka‘aihue;

• Goat undecorating: Tanner Refamonte, Kamren Ka‘aihue, Cade Carveiro;

• Reach roping: Tanner Refamonte, Kamren Ka‘aihue, Cade Carveiro.

• K-2 All Around Cowgirl: Baelee Dela Cruz

Junior winners

• Barrel racing; Skye Schumacher, Savannah Miranda, Sydney Manibog;

• Pole bending: Savannah Miranda, Skye Schumacher, Chyanne Ka‘aihue;

• Goat tying (girls): Skye Schumacher, Chyanne Ka‘aihue, Kamaile Cacal-Wong;

• Goat tying (boys): Colten Manibog, Zhairyn Navarro;

• Breakaway roping (girls): Kilileo Alquiza, Chyanne Ka‘aihue, Aleigha Palama;

• Breakaway roping (boys): Colten Manibog, Zhairyn Navarro;

• Ribbon roping: Zhairyn Navarro/Chyanne Ka‘aihue;

• Double mugging: Zhairyn Navarro/Chyanne Ka‘aihue;

• All Around Cowgirl: Skye Schumacher;

• All Around Cowboy: Colten Manibog;

• Reserve All Around Cowgirl: Chyanne Ka‘aihue;

• Reserve All Around Cowboy: Zhairyn Navarro;

High school winners

• Barrel racing: Casera Silva, Kiana Mertz, Mahina Pu‘u;

• Goat tying: Casera Silva, Nicole Medeiros, Mahina Pu‘u;

• Pole bending: Mahina Pu‘u, Casera Silva, Leolani Fernandez;

• Breakaway Roping: Casera Silva, Taylor Langtad, Mahina Pu‘u

• Cutting: Leolani Fernandez, Casera Silva, Mahina Pu‘u;

• Reining cow horse: Casera Silva, Mahina Pu‘u, Nicole Medeiros;

• Team roping: Kahinu Palama-Soares/Casera Silva, Cody Manibog/Austin Camara, Taylor Langtad/Mahina Pu‘u;

• Double mugging: Casera Silva/Kahinu Palama-Soares, Cody Manibog/Austin Camara, (odd man)/Mahina Pu‘u;

• Tie down roping: Kahinu Palama-Soares, Austin Camara;

• Po‘o Wai U: Kahinu Palama-Soares;

• All Around Cowgirl: Casera Silva;

• All Around Cowboy: Kahinu Palama-Soares;

• Reserve All Around Cowgirl: Mahina Pu‘u;

• Reserve All Around Cowboy: Austin Camara.
Source: The Garden Island

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply