Press "Enter" to skip to content

Tresler named 2021 Coach of the Year

LIHU‘E — Kapa‘a High School football team, making Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation history by bringing home the state title for the first time, placed 18 players on the KIF Football All-Star team announced by the KIF Wednesday.

Mike Tresler, making his first appearance as the head coach for the Warriors, who finished their 2021 season undefeated, was voted Coach of the Year.

Two Warrior players, Santana Hernandez-Martinez and Connor Payomo, both seniors, were voted Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively.

Waimea High School secured votes for nine spots, including Tresten Shigematsu outpolling Kapa‘a QB Kaponoo Na-o for the quarterback spot, and Haweo Akea getting the kicker position, and Anson Lazaro, currently on the court for the Menehune boys basketball, getting the punter position.

Kaua‘i High School earned a sole berth when Hekili Dizol, a junior, was voted into the defensive utility spot.

Voting for the KIF football all-stars is done by the sport’s coaches, athletic directors and KIF officials.



• Linemen: Santana Hernandez-Martinez (Kapa‘a, grade 12), Kaikoa Kanakaole (Kapa‘a, ninth), Noah Navalta (Kapaa, ninth), Tyrus Haumea (Waimea, 12) and Kawika Rogers (Kapa‘a, 12)

• Receivers: Jaysten Pimental (Kapa‘a, 12), Makenyah Okeigar (Waimea, 11), Anson Lazaro (Waimea, 12) and Nakoa Kimi (Kapa‘a, 11),

• Running back: Kian Rapozo (Kapa‘a, 12)

• Quarterback: Tresten Shigematsu (Waimea, 12)

• Kicker: Haweo Akeo (Waimea, 11), special teams, Keanu Ebesu (Kapa‘a, 12)

• Utility: Kaponoo Na-o (Kapa‘a, 10)


• Linemen: Bruno Likio (Kapa‘a, 10), Sepuloni Tafea (Kapa‘a, 12), Connor Kitamura (Kapa‘a, 11) and Robin Correa (Waimea, 11)

• Linebackers: Connor Payomo (Kapa‘a, 12), Solomone Malafu (Kapa‘a, 11) and Nick Reyes (Waimea, 12)

• Defensive backs: Keanu Ebesu (Kapa‘a, 12), Kalahikiola Velasco (Kapa‘a, 11), Bronze DeCosta (Waimea, 12) and Jaden Yamashita (Kapa‘a, 11)

• Punter: Anson Lazaro (Waimea, 12), utility Hekili Dizol (Kaua‘i, 11).


• Offensive Player of the Year: Santana Hernandez-Martinez (Kapa‘a, 12).

• Defensive Player of the Year: Connor Payomo (Kapa‘a, 12).

• Coach of the Year: Mike Tresler (Kapa‘a).
Source: The Garden Island

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: