Press "Enter" to skip to content

Waimea top D II seed, Kapa‘a No. 5 in football playoffs

LIHU‘E — Kaua‘i will have the benefit of hosting one of the First Hawaiian Bank Hawai‘i High School Division II semifinals games, according to football brackets released on Friday evening.

Waimea High School, the defending D II champions, was announced as the top D II seed and will draw a bye during the opening round of state DII championships that will play on Nov. 10 at Roosevelt High School.

The Menehune will host the winner of the D II No. 4 seed Roosevelt and No. 5 seed Kamehameha School-Hawai‘i on Nov. 18 starting at 1 p.m. at Hanapepe Stadium.

D II No. 2 seed is Kamehameha Schools-Maui, who will be hosting the winner of the No. 3 seed PAC-5 and unseeded Kaimuki.

The championship match for Division II is scheduled for Nov. 25 at Mililani High School with a 4 p.m. kickoff.

Kapa‘a High School, the Central Pacific Bank Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation champions with a 6-0 season, will be playing in Division 1 as the No. 5 seed. The Warriors, under Coach Mike Tresler, will make its bid for the D I title on Nov. 11, when Kapa‘a travels to the Lahainaluna High School field to face the No. 4 seeded Lunas.

If successful on Maui, the Warriors will travel to Hawai‘i Island to meet up with No. 1 seeded Konawaena High School in Kona on Nov. 18 at a 7 p.m. kickoff.

The No. 2 seed for D I belongs to Waipahu High School, who will host the winner of the No. 3 seed Damien High School and unseeded Farrington High School, which will play at Kaiser High School on Nov. 11.

The D I championship will play at Mililani High School on Nov. 25 with a 7 p.m. kickoff.
Source: The Garden Island

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply